This project was presented within the framework of the May of the Artists 2012 of the City of Argenteuil, on the theme "the Movement and the City". He was selected and he received creative assistance.

Instantané 1 (04-01-2013 22-40)
Instantané 1 (04-01-2013 22-28)
DSC_0338 [800x600]
DSC_0316 [800x600]
DSC_0287 [800x600]
DSC_0286 [800x600]
DSC_0283 [800x600]
DSC_0272 [800x600]
DSC_0270 [800x600]
DSC_0266 [800x600]
DSC_0254 [800x600]
DSC_0253 [800x600]
DSC_0236 [800x600]
DSC_0223 [800x600]
DSC_0217 [800x600]
DSC_0167 [800x600]
DSC_0165 [800x600]
DSC_0164 [800x600]
DSC_0163 [800x600]
DSC_0162 [800x600]
3b
3 [50%]

This subject on movement and the city evokes, for me, the necessary urban transformation, through a real Harmonic mutation which must put Man back in the City. A city to the size of its inhabitants, their needs.

This requires the technical improvement of their living environment, the architecture of the buildings, the means of communication, the resolution of the problem of difficult neighborhoods.

By creating a center that shines in its neighborhoods, like a village square from which everything is organized and organized. Each district being part of a whole: the City.

" The city "

(2012)

It also involves the means that make it possible to smooth out the social and economic difficulties of its inhabitants. Argenteuil is a city which has an important diversity at the same time cultural and social and, in view of its differences must exploit its richness. City where we will turn to the other by fighting the inclinations of community withdrawal, ghettoisation, by the application of a global project where each will have to find its place. Development, not only social, but also cultural and artistic, gives a deeper meaning and an additional dimension to simple belonging to a territory.

In addition, registering Man in the city also means arranging the architectural space so that his body is integrated into it. A reflection on human behavior will impose, in the construction, the necessary balance of volumes, their dimensions and proportions. Which leads us to establish a grid of Right Measure. Measure which would be based on the "Golden Ratio", which is neither a measure, nor a dimension but which designates an arithmetic and geometric relationship (1.618) between two quantities. Measure that still use today, to build, in particular the master carpenters. We find this relationship in man as well as in the plant and animal world.

It is around this reflection and the essential notion of harmony that my creative work has been articulated, which you will find in detail in the following pages. The dimension of the work is calculated from the golden number, indeed for a height of 2.51m, the length is 4.06m (2.51 x 1.618) in order to pose Balance and Harmony as the founding principle of this stained glass sculpture.

The idea that animates the work starts from the observation that the city is no longer on the scale of man, creator of anguish and bad living, must disappear. It is through the symbolism of children's drawings that this need for renewal is expressed. It is they, by their proximity to the state of nature that can help us find the keys to this transformation. The theme of the sun and the star in the panel THE SUN, is there to remind us of the rules of balance and harmony which must govern the reconstruction. The screen inserted in this panel will broadcast a video made from testimonies of children from schools in Argenteuil. From the conception of their "ideal city" and from their drawings. But also with the testimonies of former Argenteuillais, on the history of their city, its evolution and also with old photographs.

The NATURE panel expresses the necessary return to the principles and laws of natural harmony symbolized here by the plant wall and the water wall, which connect man to nature, from which he often forgets that it comes from it. .

The final panel expresses the resolution of the problem: to create a city the size of Man who places him at the center of this city. A city in the image of Man, which meets his needs and aspirations.

  • Vimeo Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon

© 2016 by Serge Elphège.

Atelier de Vitrail

Ce projet a été présenté  dans le cadre du Mai des Artistes 2012 de la Ville d'Argenteuil, sur le thème " le Mouvement et la Ville". Il a été retenu et il a bénéficié d'une aide à la création.

Ce sujet sur le mouvement et la ville évoque, pour moi, la nécessaire transformation urbaine, par une véritable mutation Harmonique qui doit resituer l’Homme dans la Cité. Une ville à la dimension de ses habitants, de leurs nécessités.

 

Cela passe par l’amélioration technique de leur cadre de vie, l’architecture du bâti, les moyens de communication, la résolution de la problématique des quartiers difficiles.

 

Par la création d’un centre qui rayonne sur ses quartiers, à la manière d’une place de village à partir de laquelle tout s’ordonne et s’organise. Chaque quartier faisant partie d’un tout : la Cité.

" La Cité "  

(2012)

Cela passe aussi par les moyens qui permettent d’aplanir les difficultés sociales et économiques de ses habitants. Argenteuil  est une ville qui possède  une diversité importante à la fois culturelle et sociale et, au vu de ses différences doit en exploiter la richesse. Ville où l'on se tournera  vers l’autre en combattant les velléités de  repli communautaire, de ghettoïsation, par l’application d’un projet global ou chacun devra trouver sa place. Le développement, non seulement social, mais aussi culturel et artistique, donne un sens plus profond et une dimension supplémentaire à la simple appartenance à un territoire.

 

De plus, inscrire l’Homme dans la cité, c’est aussi aménager l'espace architectural pour que son corps s'y intègre. Une réflexion sur le comportement de l'homme, imposera, dans la construction, l'équilibre nécessaire des volumes, de leurs dimensions et proportions. Ce qui nous conduit à établir une grille de la Juste Mesure. Mesure qui s’appuierait sur le "Nombre d'Or", qui n’est ni une mesure, ni une dimension mais qui désigne un rapport arithmétique et géométrique (1.618) entre deux grandeurs. Mesure qu’emploient encore aujourd’hui, pour construire, notamment les maîtres charpentiers. On retrouve ce rapport dans l’homme ainsi que dans le monde végétal et animal. 

 

C’est autour de cette réflexion et de la notion essentielle de l’harmonie que s’est articulé mon travail de création dont vous trouverez le détail dans les pages suivantes. La dimension de l’œuvre est calculée à partir du nombre d’or, en effet pour une hauteur de 2.51m , la longueur est de 4.06m  (2.51 x 1.618) afin de poser l’Equilibre et l’Harmonie comme principe fondateur de cette sculpture vitrail.

 

L’idée qui anime l’œuvre part du constat que la ville n’est plus à l’échelle de l’homme, créatrice d’angoisse et de mal vivre, doit disparaître. C’est par le symbolisme des dessins enfants que s’exprime ce besoin de renouveau. Ce sont eux, par leur proximité de l’état de nature qui peuvent nous aider à trouver les clefs de cette transformation. Le thème du soleil et de l’étoile dans le panneau LE SOLEIL, est là pour nous rappeler les règles d’équilibre et d’harmonie  qui doivent présider à la reconstruction. L’écran inséré dans ce panneau, diffusera une vidéo réalisée à partir de témoignages d’enfants des écoles d’Argenteuil. A partir de la conception de leur « ville idéale » et à partir de leurs dessins. Mais aussi avec les témoignages d’anciens Argenteuillais, sur l’histoire de leur ville, son évolution et également avec d’anciennes  photographies.

 

Le panneau LA NATURE exprime le retour nécessaire sur les principes et les lois d’harmonie naturelle symbolisés ici par le mur végétal et le mur d’eau, qui relient  l’homme à la nature, dont il oublie souvent qu’il en est issu.

Le panneau final exprime la résolution du problème : créer une ville à la dimension de l’Homme qui place celui-ci au centre de cette cité. Une ville à l’image de l’Homme, qui réponde à  ses besoins et ses aspirations.

  • Vimeo Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon

© 2016 par Serge Elphège.